For the 50th anniversary of gender diversity at HEC, the editorial team put women in the spotlight!

For about a decade, Karen Contet (M.05), co-founder of the global tech summit Hong Kong Fintech Week, has been making waves in the Asian Silicon Valley. Learn more about this enthusiast of new worlds.

Her favorite video game when she was a teenager? Mario Kart! Born in Versailles, Karen Contet spent her childhood in Japan. Her family relocated there in 1985 when her father was tasked with setting up a liaison office for the Renault group in Tokyo. She lived in the Japanese capital until the age of thirteen, marked by a futuristic gaming universe.

A math and technology aficionado, Karen Contet studied computer engineering between France and Canada. She had no doubt she would become a trader, and made it happen by earning a Master’s in International Finance at HEC. In 2005, she started her career at JP Morgan in Tokyo, in the heart of computer science and financial news, specializing in exotic derivatives. “It really suited me. It was intense, but really great. Now, I still work fifteen hours a day, but I’m my own boss,” she jokes.

 

When someone managed to raise $500,000 at that time, they were considered a rock star!

 

In 2010, Karen Contet shifted her focus to Hong Kong, where many banks had relocated after the 2008 financial crisis. Inspired by the entrepreneurial buzz in the city, the trader decided to go back to school to learn how to code her website and, in 2014, founded the company WHub with her best friend, German entrepreneur Karena Belin. The two partners launched their platform to reference companies, helping them be visible and highlighting a mission rather than a product or service.

The W in WHub was carefully chosen in reference to the book “Start with Why” by author and speaker Simon Sinek. “It really was the birth of a tech ecosystem,” explains the co-founder. “We were fascinated by entrepreneurs and the fact that they could talk about their start-up for hours.”

Directory of start-ups, job board, fairs, hackathons… Quickly, Karen Contet created links between companies, talents, and investors. The WHub community stirred up the tech scene in Southeast Asia at a time when terms like fintech, fundraising, or unicorn had not yet entered business jargon.

“The word start-up was not even mentioned by the government in their annual budget,” she recalls. “When someone managed to raise $500,000, they were considered a rock star.” This enthusiasm for the industry led to the creation of the Fintech Association in 2017 to “collaborate and have more influence with regulators.”

$20 million in investments

Also working to support women in IT with the Women Who Code Association, she tries to push an industry that remains predominantly male towards more diversity. Karen Contet also manages AngelHub, an organization approved by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC), the regulator of the Hong Kong market, allowing professionals to create their own start-up portfolios.

Her Club Deal application proposes to syndicate in a private network, with family or friends, around investment projects. “Put your money where your passion is, that’s really the goal,” she adds. “It’s great to be at the forefront and see all the new technologies develop.” With AngelHub, this natural ambassador for fintech in France and Asia currently supports 24 companies with $20 million in investments.

 

Karen Contet speaking at the Hong Kong Fintech Week 2023.

A Future Development in Europe?

Above all, Karen Contet organizes one of the world’s largest tech conferences: the Hong Kong Fintech Week, which brought together 800 speakers and 35,000 visitors in two days this year. “Conferences are meant to strengthen networking and tech education. Information sharing is key,” she says. The agenda? Artificial intelligence, Web3, cryptocurrencies, blockchain… Talking to the entrepreneur, one can sense her amazement at these subjects. “The possibilities are truly incredible. We can now own a part of the web or buy elements of a video game!”

And now? The “queen of tech” has just planted her flag in Europe… Already busy launching investment funds, she would like to develop AngelHub, her crowdfunding platform between investors and start-ups, while continuing to play the role of business ambassador between Paris and Hong Kong.

Published by Estel Plagué

Articles de l'auteur

Pour les 50 ans de la mixité à HEC, la rédaction met les femmes à l’honneur !

Voilà une dizaine d’années que Karen Contet (M.05), la cofondatrice de la Hong Kong Fintech Week, grand-messe mondiale de la tech, agite la Silicon Valley asiatique. Entretien avec cette passionnée de nouveaux mondes.

Le jeu vidéo qu’elle préférait lorsqu’elle était adolescente ? Mario Kart ! Née à Versailles, Karen Contet passe son enfance au Japon. Sa famille s’y expatrie en 1985 alors que son père est chargé de monter un bureau de liaison pour le groupe Renault à Tokyo. Elle vivra dans la capitale nippone jusqu’à ses treize ans, marquée par l’univers futuriste du gaming.

Fan de maths, passionnée de technologie, Karen Contet étudie l’ingénierie informatique entre la France et le Canada. Pas de doute, elle sera trader, et s’en donne les moyens en passant un Master en finance internationale à HEC. En 2005, elle commence sa carrière chez JP Morgan à Tokyo, au cœur de la computer science et de l’actualité financière et se spécialise dans les produits dit « exotiques ». « Ça me correspondait vraiment très bien. C’était intense, mais c’était vraiment génial. Maintenant, je bosse toujours quinze heures par jour, mais à mon compte », plaisante-t-elle.

 

À l’époque, quand quelqu’un arrivait à lever 500 000 dollars, c’était une rock star !

 

En 2010, Karen Contet bifurque direction Hong Kong, où beaucoup de banques ont déménagé après la crise financière de 2008. Inspirée par le fourmillement entrepreneurial de la ville, la tradeuse prend la décision de reprendre les études pour apprendre à coder son site et monte, en 2014, la société WHub avec sa meilleure amie l’entrepreneuse allemande Karena Belin. Les deux acolytes lancent leur plateforme pour référencer les boîtes, leur donner de la visibilité tout en aidant à mettre en avant une mission plutôt qu’un produit ou un service.

« C’était vraiment au début de l’écosystème tech, explique la cofondatrice. On était fascinées par les entrepreneurs et le fait qu’ils pouvaient parler de leur start-up pendant des heures. » Le W de Whub fut d’ailleurs soigneusement choisi en référence au livre Start with Why de l’auteur et conférencier Simon Sinek.

Annuaire des start-up, offres d’emploi, job fairs, hackathons et autres événements thématiques… Très vite, Karen Contet créé des liens entre les boîtes, les talents et les investisseurs. La communauté WHub agite ainsi la tech l’Asie du Sud-Est à une époque où les mots fintech, levée de fonds ou unicorn ne sont pas encore passés dans le jargon business.

« Le mot start-up ne faisait pas partie des mentions du gouvernement dans leur budget annuel, se rappelle-t-elle. Quand quelqu’un arrivait à lever 500 000 dollars, c’était une rock star. » Cet engouement pour le milieu mène à la création de la Fintech Association en 2017 pour « collaborer et avoir plus de poids auprès des régulateurs. »

 

20 millions de dollars d’investissements

Œuvrant au passage pour l’entraide des femmes de l’IT avec l’association Women Who Code, elle tente de pousser un milieu qui reste majoritairement masculin vers plus de diversité. Karen Contet est aussi aux manettes de AngelHub, un organisme homologué par la SFC (Securities and Future Commission), le régulateur du marché hongkongais, et qui permet aux professionnels de créer leur propre portefeuille de start-up. 

Son application Club Deal propose, elle, de se syndiquer en réseau privé, en famille ou entre amis, autour de projets d’investissement. « Put your money where your passion is, c’est vraiment ça le but, ajoute-t-elle. C’est génial d’être à l’avant-garde et de voir toutes les nouvelles technologies se développer. » Avec AngelHub, cette ambassadrice naturelle de la fintech en France et en Asie soutient actuellement 24 sociétés pour 20 millions de dollars d’investissements.

 

Karen Contet intervenant à la Hong Kong Fintech Week 2023.

 

Un développement en Europe ?

Karen Contet organise surtout l’une des plus grosses conférences tech au monde : la Hong Kong Fintech Week, qui a réuni 800 speakers et 35 000 visiteurs en deux jours cette année. « Les conférences servent à renforcer le networking et l’éducation à la tech. Le partage de l’information est la clé », rappelle-t-elle. L’ordre du jour ? L’intelligence artificielle, le Web3, les cryptomonnaies, la blockchain… On devine, en échangeant avec l’entrepreneure, un émerveillement sur ces sujets. « Les possibilités sont vraiment incroyables. On peut maintenant détenir une partie du web ou acheter des éléments d’un jeu vidéo ! »

Et maintenant ? La « reine de la tech » vient de planter son drapeau en Europe… Déjà occupée à lancer des fonds d’investissement, elle voudrait y développer AngelHub, sa plateforme de crowdfunding entre investisseurs et start-up, tout en continuant de jouer les ambassadrices business entre Paris et Hong Kong.

Published by Estel Plagué

Articles de l'auteur